RSS

Tag Archives: self- acceptance

Short

Title:  Short
Author: Holly Goldberg Sloan
Series:
Recommended for: 5th grade and up
Pages: 304
Call Number/Link: Short

Synopsis: Julia is very short for her age, but by the end of the summer run of The Wizard of Oz, she’ll realize how big she is inside, where it counts. She hasn’t ever thought of herself as a performer, but when the wonderful director of Oz casts her as a Munchkin, she begins to see herself in a new way. Julia becomes friendly with the poised and wise Olive–one of the adults with dwarfism who’ve joined the production’s motley crew of Munchkins. With her deeply artistic neighbor, Mrs. Chang, Julia’s own sense of self as an artist grows. Soon, she doesn’t want to fade into the background–and it’s a good thing, because her director has more big plans for Julia!

Okay, a book involving a short person and Wizard of Oz.  How could I resist?  This is another awesome book by Holly Sloan (Counting by Sevens).  I’m usually a scifi/fantasy reader instead of sweet realistic fiction.  But this is a book that’s sweet but not syrupy. It has a message but doesn’t beat you over the head with it.  Fans of Smile, Out of My Mind and those type of books will love it.

Advertisements
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 25, 2017 in Juv, Realistic, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Tumbling: a Novel

TumblingTitle: Tumbling: a novel

Author: Caela Carter

Series: N/A

Recommended for:

Pages: 424 pages

Synopsis: After sacrificing their childhoods, Grace, Leigh, Camille, Wilhelmina, and Monica are competing in the two days of the U.S. Olympic Gymnastics Trials, after which their lives will change forever.

This book follows five gymnasts at the trials for the Olympic Team.  I really enjoyed how this looked at each girl’s story.  Each girl had different struggles to get to the trials and each  one wants to make the team at all costs.  I enjoyed the story line and it was a fast paced book.  She does use a lot of gymnastics terms, that might put off someone  who has not been in gymnastics.  There is one things that I didn’t care for, the mean girl personality of Grace.  She is highly competitive, and her father has taught her that there are no friends in the gym. Plus, her father is highly critical of her, instead of giving her praise he is always telling her the little mistakes.  This doesn’t excuse the teasing of one of the gymnasts and making her feel second rate.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 28, 2016 in Realistic, Teen

 

Tags: , , , , ,