RSS

Tag Archives: nature

Plant the Tiny Seed

plant-the-tiny-seed

 

Title: Plant the Tiny Seed

Author: Christie Mathson

Series: N/A

Recommended for: Preschool – 3rd grade

Pages: 40

Call Number/Link: E MATHESON, C.

Synopsis:  How do you make a garden grow? In this playful companion to the popular Tap the Magic Tree and Touch the Brightest Star, you will see how tiny seeds bloom into beautiful flowers. And by tapping, clapping, waving, and more, young readers can join in the action! Christie Matheson masterfully combines the wonder of the natural world with the interactivity of reading.

Beautiful collage-and-watercolor art follows the seed through its entire life cycle, as it grows into a zinnia in a garden full of buzzing bees, curious hummingbirds, and colorful butterflies. Children engage with the book as they wiggle their fingers to water the seeds, clap to make the sun shine after rain, and shoo away a hungry snail. Appropriate for even the youngest child, Plant the Tiny Seed is never the same book twice—no matter how many times you read it!

And for curious young nature lovers, a page of facts about seeds, flowers, and the insects and animals featured in the book is included at the end. Fans of Press Here, Eric Carle, and Lois Ehlert will find their next favorite book in Plant the Tiny Seed.

My thoughts: I think this book was so cute and had great rhyming sentences.  It is very interactive and would be perfect for any storytime: lapsit, toddler, preschool or Family.  I like the fact that the children can participate by doing an action for each page, while the colors and illustrations are engaging while covering a science topic.  Great book for parents or any type of teachers that want to teach how plants grow.

Advertisements
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 25, 2017 in Concepts, Non-Fiction, Picture Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Because of an Acorn

because-of-an-acorn-cover

Title:   Because of an Acorn
Author:   Lola Schaefer & Adam Schaefer
Illustrator:   Frann Preston-Gannon
Recommended for:    kindergarten-third graders, older preschoolers who aren’t too sensitive (and/or observant) 
Pages:   unpaged
Call Number/Link:   E 577.3 SCH

Rating:  ***

 

 

Synopsis:

Because of an acorn, a tree grows, a bird nests, a seed becomes a flower. Enchanting illustrations show the vital connections between the layers of an ecosystem in this magical book. Wander down the forest path to learn how every tree, flower, plant, and animal connect to one another in spiraling circles of life.

Comments:

This book uses minimal text and detailed illustrations to teach children basic information about a woodland ecosystem.  If used in a classroom, the teacher would need to provide additional explanation for children to actually understand the concept.

The online catalog lists the book as being for ages 5-10 and grades K-3.  It seemed like a book for younger children the first time I read it, but I am less certain of that after looking at the illustrations more closely.  This should not be a shock considering that the book is about the food cycle.  Observant children might notice the bird with an insect in its mouth, a snake approaching a chipmunk, and a hawk capturing a snake.  The text never mentions why some animals are grabbing smaller animals and the animals are not shown eating their prey, so I am unsure whether it could be used for Preschool Storytimes or Toddler Times with a tree or nature theme.

This book is easy nonfiction but reads like a picture book.

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 12, 2016 in Non-Fiction, Picture Books

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

The Wonderful Habits of Rabbits

Wonderful habits of rabbits cover

Title:   The Wonderful Habits of Rabbits
Author:   Douglas Florian
Series:   —
Recommended for:   Preschoolers, kindergarteners, elementary school students.  College students who need a poem in picture book form.

Pages:   32 p.
Call Number/Link:  E Florian, D.

Rating:   ****

 

Synopsis:

Join a family of rabbits as they have all kinds of fun throughout the day.

Comments:

Hurray!  A book for college children’s lit students who need a poem in picture book form!!!  I am so glad that poet Douglas Florian decided to publish a picture book this year.

Actually, I think it deserves a little more enthusiasm.

Hip Hip Hurray!!!

The students could use it for these project themes:  rabbits, seasons, nature, animals, family, a day from beginning to end, activities, habits

It is also a great choice for preschoolers, kindergarteners and elementary school students.  (It could also work for older students doing a poetry unit and anyone who likes poetry and/or picture books.)

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 29, 2016 in Picture Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,