RSS

Tag Archives: mothers and daughters

Harold and the Purple Crayon

Harold

Title: Harold and the Purple Crayon
Author: Crockett Johnson
Series: N/A
Recommended for:
Pages: 239
Call Number/Link:  E JOHNS
Synopsis: One night Harold decides to take a walk in the moon light with his purple crayon. Go on an adventure with Harold and his purple crayon in this imagination filled classic.
Review:  Let Harold and his purple crayon take you on an adventure filled with dragons, hot air balloons and pie!  In a world of technological distractions this book is a great way to remind us all to have fun and use our imagination. There are quite a few books in this series that are just as fun as the original.

Advertisements
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 21, 2016 in Bedtime, Picture Books

 

Tags: , , , ,

Roller Girl

Roller Girl
Cover of the book Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson

Cover of the book Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson

Title: Roller Girl
Author: Victoria Jamieson
Series: N/A
Recommended for: Grades 4-8
Pages: 239
Call Number/Link:  GN J JAMIESON, V.
Synopsis: Astrid is an impressionable grade schooler about to transition to Middle School.  In the summer prior to the 6th grade, she attends a roller deby event and is inspired to be become a roller derby athlete. She attends a summer roller derby camp and learns a bit more about herself, even as she and her childhood friend begin to drift apart.
Review:  Roller girl is a clever take on the middle schooler coming of age story. I am a fan of roller derby and this book did not disappoint. The main character Astrid is realistic and feels like a preteen, figuring out her place in the world. . The lost of friendship as Astrid and her best friend grow apart feels very real with a lack of melodrama. The book is filled with subtle nuances of character and told with a light touch. While seemingly inspired by Raina Telgemeier, I found this book to be even better than Smile

The best part was the underlying message, not of “believe in yourself and you will win” but “work hard and do your best.” It lacked the clichés of most “sports” books, in terms of underdogs and sudden mastery of difficult skills. I enjoyed that Astrid was still somewhat unskilled at roller derby in the end—though better than the beginning. If this turns into a series, I will be quite happy.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 6, 2015 in Graphic Novels, Juv, Realistic

 

Tags: , , , ,

Princess Sparkle-Heart Gets a Makeover

princess sparkle-heart cover

Title:   Princess Sparkle-Heart Gets a Makeover
Author:   Josh Schneider
Series:   not applicable
Recommended for:  preschoolers, kindergarten and first grade students
Pages:   32 p.
Call Number/Link:    E Schne

Rating:   *****

 

 

 

 

Synopsis:   Amelia and her best friend, Princess Sparkle-Heart, do almost everything together, so when the Princess suffers an accident, Amelia’s mother puts her sewing box to good use and makes the doll better than ever.

Comments:   I love this book!  It seemed like it would be girly because it’s the story of a girl and her doll, but it’s not.  Princess Sparkle-Heart is a perfectly lovely princess doll until [cue ominous music]…  a jealous dog tears her to shreds.  The result: Amelia’s mom gives Princess Sparkle-Heart an amazing makeover and creates the fiercest princess doll ever!

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 28, 2015 in Picture Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Almost Home

 

almost homeTitle:  Almost Home
Author: Joan Bauer
Series: None
Recommended for: 4-7th grade
Pages: 240
Call Number/Link:  J BAU

Synopsis: When twelve-year-old Sugar’s grandfather dies and her gambling father takes off yet again, Sugar and her mother lose their home in Missouri. They head to Chicago for a fresh start, only to discover that fresh starts aren’t so easy to come by for the homeless. Nevertheless, Sugar’s mother has taught her to be grateful no matter what, so Sugar does her best. With the help of a rescue dog, Shush; a foster family; a supportive teacher; a love of poetry; and her own grace and good humor, Sugar comes to understand that while she can’t control the hand life deals her, she can control how she responds.

Review: I will admit that I wanted to read this book because of the adorable puppy on the cover but it also turned out to be one of those books about kids in sad circumstances that I love. This book is a Caudill nominee this year and also another Girls Read favorite.  I would recommend for fans of Love, Aubrey, Wonder, or Waiting for Normal.  This book is like others like it, in that the protagonist makes the best out of her circumstances and comes out all the better in the end.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 27, 2015 in Realistic, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,