RSS

Tag Archives: interactive

Plant the Tiny Seed

plant-the-tiny-seed

Title:   Plant the Tiny Seed
Author:   Christie Matheson
Series:   —
Recommended for:  children ages 6 and under
Pages:    32 p.
Call Number/Link:  E MATHESON, C.

Rating:   *** 1/2

 

 
Synopsis:

Plant a seed to watch it grow. Press on the cloud to make it rain. Jiggle the book to scatter the seeds. Interactive text teaches very young children how flowers sprout and mature. Contains watercolor depictions of a flower in various stages of growth” – – provided by publisher.

 

Comments:

Cute gardening book for young children.  Interactive, like the author’s book Tap the Magic Tree.

Great for preschool storytimes with gardening or spring theme.  Could also use for a bee or butterfly storytime.  It could also work for Toddler Time if the children in attendance skew a little older and wouldn’t be too confused by the interactive aspect of the book.

Would work well for one-on-one reading to toddlers and up.

 

 

Advertisements
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 7, 2017 in Concepts, Picture Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Plant the Tiny Seed

plant-the-tiny-seed

 

Title: Plant the Tiny Seed

Author: Christie Mathson

Series: N/A

Recommended for: Preschool – 3rd grade

Pages: 40

Call Number/Link: E MATHESON, C.

Synopsis:  How do you make a garden grow? In this playful companion to the popular Tap the Magic Tree and Touch the Brightest Star, you will see how tiny seeds bloom into beautiful flowers. And by tapping, clapping, waving, and more, young readers can join in the action! Christie Matheson masterfully combines the wonder of the natural world with the interactivity of reading.

Beautiful collage-and-watercolor art follows the seed through its entire life cycle, as it grows into a zinnia in a garden full of buzzing bees, curious hummingbirds, and colorful butterflies. Children engage with the book as they wiggle their fingers to water the seeds, clap to make the sun shine after rain, and shoo away a hungry snail. Appropriate for even the youngest child, Plant the Tiny Seed is never the same book twice—no matter how many times you read it!

And for curious young nature lovers, a page of facts about seeds, flowers, and the insects and animals featured in the book is included at the end. Fans of Press Here, Eric Carle, and Lois Ehlert will find their next favorite book in Plant the Tiny Seed.

My thoughts: I think this book was so cute and had great rhyming sentences.  It is very interactive and would be perfect for any storytime: lapsit, toddler, preschool or Family.  I like the fact that the children can participate by doing an action for each page, while the colors and illustrations are engaging while covering a science topic.  Great book for parents or any type of teachers that want to teach how plants grow.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 25, 2017 in Concepts, Non-Fiction, Picture Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,