RSS

Tag Archives: girls and dogs

Almost Home

 

almost homeTitle:  Almost Home
Author: Joan Bauer
Series: None
Recommended for: 4-7th grade
Pages: 240
Call Number/Link:  J BAU

Synopsis: When twelve-year-old Sugar’s grandfather dies and her gambling father takes off yet again, Sugar and her mother lose their home in Missouri. They head to Chicago for a fresh start, only to discover that fresh starts aren’t so easy to come by for the homeless. Nevertheless, Sugar’s mother has taught her to be grateful no matter what, so Sugar does her best. With the help of a rescue dog, Shush; a foster family; a supportive teacher; a love of poetry; and her own grace and good humor, Sugar comes to understand that while she can’t control the hand life deals her, she can control how she responds.

Review: I will admit that I wanted to read this book because of the adorable puppy on the cover but it also turned out to be one of those books about kids in sad circumstances that I love. This book is a Caudill nominee this year and also another Girls Read favorite.  I would recommend for fans of Love, Aubrey, Wonder, or Waiting for Normal.  This book is like others like it, in that the protagonist makes the best out of her circumstances and comes out all the better in the end.

Advertisements
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 27, 2015 in Realistic, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

Rain Reign

rain reign
Title: Rain Reign

Author:  Ann M. Martin
Series: none
Recommended for: 3rd-6th grade
Pages: 226
Call Number/Link: J FICTION MARTIN, A.

Synopsis:

Rose Howard has OCD, Asperger’s syndrome, and an obsession with homonyms. She gave her dog Rain a name with two homonyms. Rose and Rain are practically inseparable. And they are often home alone, as Rose’s father spends most evenings at a bar, and doesn’t have much patience for his special-needs daughter. Just as a storm hits town, Rain goes missing. Rose’s father shouldn’t have let Rain out. Now Rose has to find her dog, even if it means leaving her routines and safe places to search.

This book was a wonderful story of a girl you can’t help liking, although she has a hard time making friends in school due to her special needs.  Her relationship with her dog and her uncle keep her grounded, and give her normalcy compared to her dysfunctional relationship with her dad.  I enjoyed reading Rose’s story and would enjoy reading more about her.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 26, 2015 in Juv, Realistic

 

Tags: , ,