RSS

Tag Archives: Chicago

I Survived: The Great Chicago Fire, 1871

I survived chicago fireTitle: I Survived: The Great Chicago Fire, 1871
Author: Lauren Tarshis
Series: I Survived
Recommended for: 2nd – 4th Grade
Pages: 96 pages
Call Number/Link: J FICTION TARSHIS, L. 

Synopsis: Oscar Starling never wanted to come to Chicago. But then Oscar finds himself not just in the heart of the big city but in the middle of a terrible fire! No one knows exactly how it began, but one thing is clear: Chicago is like a giant powder keg about to explode. An army of firemen is trying to help, but this fire is a ferocious beast that wants to devour everything in its path, including Oscar! Will Oscar survive one of the most famous and devastating fires in history.

I think this series is a great way to spark an interest in historical events.  The author gives the read a feel and taste of what it would be like to survive these historical events.  This is another book series that should lend itself to the common core. The chapters are short and has a few pictures throughout.

Advertisements
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 10, 2015 in Historical, Juv

 

Tags: , ,

Almost Home

 

almost homeTitle:  Almost Home
Author: Joan Bauer
Series: None
Recommended for: 4-7th grade
Pages: 240
Call Number/Link:  J BAU

Synopsis: When twelve-year-old Sugar’s grandfather dies and her gambling father takes off yet again, Sugar and her mother lose their home in Missouri. They head to Chicago for a fresh start, only to discover that fresh starts aren’t so easy to come by for the homeless. Nevertheless, Sugar’s mother has taught her to be grateful no matter what, so Sugar does her best. With the help of a rescue dog, Shush; a foster family; a supportive teacher; a love of poetry; and her own grace and good humor, Sugar comes to understand that while she can’t control the hand life deals her, she can control how she responds.

Review: I will admit that I wanted to read this book because of the adorable puppy on the cover but it also turned out to be one of those books about kids in sad circumstances that I love. This book is a Caudill nominee this year and also another Girls Read favorite.  I would recommend for fans of Love, Aubrey, Wonder, or Waiting for Normal.  This book is like others like it, in that the protagonist makes the best out of her circumstances and comes out all the better in the end.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 27, 2015 in Realistic, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,