RSS

Category Archives: Uncategorized

The Good for Nothing Button!

 

Title: The Good for Nothing Button

Author: Charise Mericle Harper & Mo Willems

Series: An Elephant & Piggie Like Reading Book

Recommended for: grades 1-3

Pages: 49

Call Number/Link:  Reader Willems, M.

 

 

Synopsis:   Yellow Bird has a button. It does . . . nothing! It is a good for nothing button. Red Bird and Blue Bird are excited to try the button. But when they press it, they discover that the button makes them happy. Happy is something! A flabbergasted Yellow Bird insists the button does nothing. But it sure does seem to be making him mad. Mad is something!  The hilarious debate that follows takes readers on an emotional roller coaster that pokes at the power of imaginative play.

My thoughts:  I think this book is so funny and it feeds the need for our Mo fans of Elephant and Piggie.  They will love the books in this series, the children I have read these to have loved them so far.  This is great as a read aloud as well.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 11, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Karma Khullar’s Mustache

Title: Karma Khullar’s Mustache
Author: Kristi Wientge
Series: N/A
Recommended for: grades 5 – 7
Pages: 272
Call Number/Link:  J Fiction Wientge (we don’t have this yet/it comes out in Aug, but I’ll ask Janet to order it!)

Synopsis: Karma Khullar is about to start middle school, and she is super nervous. Not just because it seems like her best friend has found a newer, blonder best friend. Or the fact that her home life is shaken up by the death of her dadima. Or even that her dad is the new stay-at-home parent, leading her mother to spend most of her time at work. But because she’s realized that she has seventeen hairs that have formed a mustache on her upper lip.

With everyone around her focused on other things, Karma is left to figure out what to make of her terrifyingly hairy surprise all on her own.

Review: I absolutely adored this book. It’s perfect for those kids who are just starting middle school. It deals nicely with friendships, mean girls/bullying, & the ever dreaded “I don’t look like everyone else”/body scenario. There is also some home life issues with dad losing his job and mom picking up more hours/not being around as much. While Karma does deal some some issue appearing/revolving around her Sikh religion, the themes/issues/problems are very universal. The fears are pretty universal, where it would be hard pressed to find anyone who didn’t even deal with some of the issue when they were in middle school. Super fast read and easily one of my favorite middle grades of the year.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 26, 2017 in Juv, Realistic, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Short

Title:  Short
Author: Holly Goldberg Sloan
Series:
Recommended for: 5th grade and up
Pages: 304
Call Number/Link: Short

Synopsis: Julia is very short for her age, but by the end of the summer run of The Wizard of Oz, she’ll realize how big she is inside, where it counts. She hasn’t ever thought of herself as a performer, but when the wonderful director of Oz casts her as a Munchkin, she begins to see herself in a new way. Julia becomes friendly with the poised and wise Olive–one of the adults with dwarfism who’ve joined the production’s motley crew of Munchkins. With her deeply artistic neighbor, Mrs. Chang, Julia’s own sense of self as an artist grows. Soon, she doesn’t want to fade into the background–and it’s a good thing, because her director has more big plans for Julia!

Okay, a book involving a short person and Wizard of Oz.  How could I resist?  This is another awesome book by Holly Sloan (Counting by Sevens).  I’m usually a scifi/fantasy reader instead of sweet realistic fiction.  But this is a book that’s sweet but not syrupy. It has a message but doesn’t beat you over the head with it.  Fans of Smile, Out of My Mind and those type of books will love it.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 25, 2017 in Juv, Realistic, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

JoJo and the Big Mess

JOJO

 

Title:   JoJo and the Big Mess

Author:  Jane O’Connor

Series: I can read! My first shared reading

Recommended for: Pre-K – 3rd grade
Pages:  32
Call Number/Link: READER O’CONNOR, J.

Synopsis:   Fancy Nancy’s little sister, JoJo, stars in her My First I Can Read debut!

From bestselling author-illustrator team Jane O’Connor and Robin Preiss Glasser comes JoJo, Fancy Nancy’s little sister. JoJo adores making messes, but when her pillow fight gets too messy, Daddy is unhappy. After everything is cleaned up, JoJo thinks of the perfect gift for Daddy…it’s the best mess of all!

My thoughts:  So cute a story.  I love the lesson in the book that sometimes moms and dads don’t mind messes and cleaning up but some rooms are not meant to be messy. Great reader book for little ones learning and so nice to continue on the Fancy Nancy series with her little sister.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 24, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Milo and Jazz Mysteries The Case of the Poisoned Pig

 

Title: The Milo & Jazz Mysteries- The Case of the Poisoned Pig

Author: Lewis B. Montgomery

Series: The Milo & Jazz Mysteries

Recommended for: grades 2nd – 5th

Pages: 96

 

Call Number/Link:  CD J MON



SynopsisSet in Nazi Germany. 1936.

When Jazz’s pet piglet gets sick and the veterinarian suspects it was poisoned, she and Milo use their detective skills to try to figure out who did it.

My Thoughts: This is a great book to listen to in the car.  If you need a quick read for summer reading, this is a good recommendation.  It only takes one hour to listen to and you can listen in the car on the way to a adjacent town and back.  Cute story and keeps children interested.

 

Tags: , , , ,

Baby Dolphin’s First Swim

Title:   Baby Dolphin’s First Swim
Author:   American Museum of Natural History
Series:   not applicable
Recommended for:   a primary audience of preschoolers and early elementary school students, although it will also appeal to older kids and adults due to its clear appealing photos and interesting information
Pages:   approximately 25 p.
Call Number/Link:   E 599.53 BAB

Rating:   ****

Synopsis:

After a baby dolphin is born in the vast ocean, his mother and other dolphins help him as he learns and grows.

Comments:

How could you go wrong with baby dolphins?  Preschoolers can browse the book’s photos happily – and have fun learning a bit about dolphins.

i would guess that the book is actually intended for students in grades K-3, although it will appeal to a much wider audience.

 

 

 
 

Tags: , ,

All’s Faire in Middle School

Title: All’s Faire in Middle School
Author: Victoria Jamieson
Series: N/A
Recommended for: 5th – 7th grade (could go a bit younger or older)
Pages: 248
Call Number/Link:  J GN Jamieson

Synopsis: Eleven-year-old Imogene (Impy) has grown up with two parents working at the Renaissance Faire, and she’s eager to begin her own training as a squire. First, though, she’ll need to prove her bravery. Luckily Impy has just the quest in mind–she’ll go to public school after a life of being homeschooled! But it’s not easy to act like a noble knight-in-training in middle school. Impy falls in with a group of girls who seem really nice (until they don’t) and starts to be embarrassed of her thrift shop apparel, her family’s unusual lifestyle, and their small, messy apartment. Impy has always thought of herself as a heroic knight, but when she does something really mean in order to fit in, she begins to wonder whether she might be more of a dragon after all.

Review:  Sooo, this one doesn’t officially come out until September, but I couldn’t wait to talk about it! I loved Roller Girl and was so excited to see another one by Jamieson coming out. And I think this one may even be a little better than Roller Girl. I love how it deals with the insecurities of starting middle school. And while in this case she’s transitioning from home school to public school, I think the general worries are still the same. I loved how Imogene deals with trying to fit in and how the subject of bullying is approached. Peer pressure is a powerful thing and when you want to fit in you’ll often to things that you know aren’t right. And sometimes how all that pressure can spill into the home life–even before one gets in trouble–as well.

The intermingling of Ren Faire stuff was a lot of fun. It was nice to see Imogene find her footing in the troup as a squire. How she was able to shake off her nervousness of performing among the streets by finding an act that worked for her. I also liked how school tied to the Ren Faire (and kind of ended there as well). And while Impy was most at home at the Ren Faire, there was still problems and lessons that she had to learn! No such thing as a perfect place, right?

Overall, I really enjoyed this book and can’t wait to see what Jamieson releases in the future.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 13, 2017 in Graphic Novels, Juv, Uncategorized