RSS

Category Archives: Romance

The Geek’s Guide to Unrequited Love

3P JKT Geeks_Guide.inddTitle: The Geek’s Guide to Unrequited Love
Author: Sarvenaz Tash
Series:
Recommended for: 8th grade and up
Pages: 256
Call Number/Link:  Teen Fiction Tash, S

Synopsis: Peter Parker and Gwen Stacy…
Archie and Veronica…
Althena and Noth…
…Graham and Roxy?

Graham met his best friend, Roxana, when he moved into her neighborhood eight years ago, and she asked him which Hogwarts house he’d be sorted into. Graham has been in love with her ever since.

But now they’re sixteen, still neighbors, still best friends. And Graham and Roxy share more than ever—moving on from their Harry Potter obsession to a serious love of comic books.

When Graham learns that the creator of their favorite comic, The Chronicles of Althena, is making a rare appearance at this year’s New York Comic Con, he knows he must score tickets. And the event inspires Graham to come up with the perfect plan to tell Roxy how he really feels about her. He’s got three days to woo his best friend at the coolest, kookiest con full of superheroes and supervillains. But no one at a comic book convention is who they appear to be…even Roxy. And Graham is starting to realize fictional love stories are way less complicated than real-life ones.

My Review: I absolutely love, love, LOVED this book. The geek culture is pretty spot on. There was nothing that made me want to say NO THAT’S ABSOLUTELY WRONG. And they treated the whole geek culture very nicely. Tash didn’t portray them as “loser” or “nerds” they were just every day kids who loved Comic Books. In fact, one of their friends who went with them, who though it would be “nerdy”, ended up loving and it even says she can see why they love it so much!

The love story is spot on as well. I love how it was handled. I don’t want to give too much away in that area, but it was totally realistic. And honestly, while I was kind of cheering for it to go a different way, I was very happy with how it ended up. If felt perfect for the situation and seemed like something that would happen to one of my teens.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 30, 2016 in Realistic, Romance, Teen, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Matched

matched

 

Title: Matched

Author: Allyson Braithwaite Condie

Series: Matched Trilogy

Recommended for: Grades Middle & High School

Pages: 512

Call Number/Link:  TEEN FICTION CONDIE

 

 

Synopsis:

In the Society, Officials decide. Who you love. Where you work. When you die.

Cassia has always trusted their choices. It’s hardly any price to pay for a long life, the perfect job, the ideal mate. So when her best friend appears on the Matching screen, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is the one… until she sees another face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black. Now Cassia is faced with impossible choices: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path no one else has ever dared follow — between perfection and passion.

Thoughts: I really love this book I think as one reviewer said that this is very similar to the giver but more beautiful people.  I would also compare it to The Selection series as well.  The fans of both these books would love this trilogy.  It is fast paced and I just whizzed through the books since there are so many twists. They are available as an eBook, audio book and book form.  I started reading as paper copy then I finished listening to the eBook since I could not obtain a paper copy.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 13, 2016 in Dystopian, Fantasy, Romance, Teen

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

First & Then

23310751Title: First & Then
Author: Emma Mills
Series: N/A
Recommended for: 7th grade & up
Pages: 267
Call Number/Link:  Teen Fiction Mills, E.

Synopsis: Devon Tennyson wouldn’t change a thing. She’s happy watching Friday night games from the bleachers, silently crushing on best friend Cas, and blissfully ignoring the future after high school. But the universe has other plans. It delivers Devon’s cousin Foster, an unrepentant social outlier with a surprising talent for football, and the obnoxiously superior and maddeningly attractive star running back, Ezra, right where she doesn’t want them first into her P.E. class and then into every other aspect of her life.

My Review: This was a fun, quick read. I believe it’s suppose to be a Pride and Prejudice retelling, but it more of a Jane Austen homage than anything else. There are hints of P&P and even other Austen characters, but it’s not a retelling in the straight forward sense. Both Devon and Ezra don’t quite fit their P&P counterparts attitudes. The illusion of Lizzie and Darcy’s personalities are there, but both Devon and Ezra deviate quite a bit/are their own person.

There’s a bit of problem with structure/pacing, but I think this going back to the P&P/Austen homage thing. There were characters and scenes that should have been taken out because they merely distracted from the story. The true heart of the story is Devon, Ezra, and Foster. Their relationships and hardships are truly what pull you into the story. Foster’s story is the most heartbreaking as he comes to terms with be abandoned by a drug-addict mom. All three characters go through some nice transformations that make you root for the the entire time.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 23, 2016 in Realistic, Romance, Teen

 

The Siren

The siren

 

Title:     The Siren

Author:   Kiera Cass

Series: N/A

Recommended for:   Ages 13-17

Pages:   336

Call Number/Link:  Teen Fiction Cass, K.

Synopsis:   Kahlen is a Siren, bound to serve the Ocean by luring humans to watery graves with her voice, which is deadly to any human who hears it. Akinli is human—a kind, handsome boy who’s everything Kahlen ever dreamed of. Falling in love puts them both in danger…but Kahlen can’t bear to stay away. Will she risk everything to follow her heart?

This was such a spellbinding book.  I loved the way she writes the character so heart felt.  She is unique and feels so many things and does not know why until she asks the Ocean more questions.  The twists and turns keeps you on the edge of your seat and you will never guess the ending.  Surprising what people keep hidden because they just don’t think it’s possible.  Can’t wait to for the sequel to see where she takes it, there are so many possibilities.  A great read for 8th grade and beyond.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 8, 2016 in Fairy Tales, Fantasy, Romance, Teen

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Not if I see you first

Jacket3WPIZMCT

Title: Not if I see you first
Author: Eric Lindstrom
Series: N/A
Recommended for: 8th thru 12th grade
Pages: 310
Call Number/Link:  TEEN FICTION LINDSTROM

Synopsis: Blind sixteen-year-old Parker Grant navigates friendships and romantic relationships, including a run-in with a boy who previously broke her heart, while coping with her father’s recent death.

Parker Grant lost her sight at the age of seven in an accident that killed her mother.  As a coping mechanism, she created what she refers to as “The Rules,” and she expects everyone in her life to adhere to them. “Don’t help me unless I ask. Otherwise you’re just getting in my way or bothering me.” “Don’t be weird. Seriously, other than having my eyes closed all the time, I’m just like you only smarter.”  Through these rules, and many others, I was drawn into what it is like to be a blind teenager (as much as I could be).  With the recent death of her father, she is trying to continue on with life in a no-nonsense fashion.  She has a quick wit and a gift for sarcasm.  Things get complicated when she meets a boy who doesn’t treat her like a blind girl, and her former best friend/boyfriend begins attending her high school (she hasn’t spoken to him in two years). Luckily she has some true friends who help her navigate the ups and downs of life.

I loved this book!  It drew me in right away, which surprised me because I wasn’t convinced I would like the book when I read the book jacket.  The struggles of high school as a teenage girl rang very true (I was a teenage girl back in the day!).  The insights into being blind were very interesting to me, and made me think about so many things I take for granted as a sighted person. The friendships were genuine and the emotions very raw at times.  I highly recommend this book for someone looking for realistic fiction.  It is a safe book to recommend if the patron is looking for a book without sex.  The most physical interaction in a make-out session in the back seat of a car.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 17, 2015 in Realistic, Romance, Teen

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The White Rose

white rose

 

Title: The White Rose

Author: Amy Ewing

Series: Lone City Trilogy

Recommended for: Ages 14-17 

Pages: 358

Call Number/Link:  TEEN FICTION EWING, A.

 

 

SynopsisThe compelling and gripping sequel to Amy Ewing’s debut, The Jewel, which BCCB said “Will have fans of Oliver’s Delirium, Cass’s The Selection, and DeStefano’s Wither breathless.”

Violet is on the run—away from the Jewel, away from a lifetime of servitude, away from the Duchess of the Lake, who bought her at auction. With Ash and Raven traveling with her, Violet will need all of her powers to get her friends, and herself, out of the Jewel alive.

But no matter how far Violet runs, she can’t escape the rebellion brewing just beneath the Jewel’s glittering surface, and her role in it. Violet must decide if she is strong enough to rise against the Jewel and everything she has ever known.

My thoughts:  I loved this book so much after I read the first book that I read it in one day.  It is very entertaining and for The selection fans this is a must.  Girls, injustice, a higher ruling class with a bit of ancient mysterious magic.  The cliffhanger is too die for.  Can’t wait until the last book of this trilogy comes out next fall.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 13, 2015 in Adventure, Dystopian, Fantasy, Romance, Teen

 

Tags: , , , , ,

The 100

9780316234498_p0_v2_s260x420Title: The 100
Author: Kass Morgan
Series: First in The 100 Trilogy (also a TV Show on CW)
Recommended for: High schoolers who liked the romance in Hunger Games
Pages: 323
Call Number/Link:  Teen Fiction Morgan, K. 

Synopsis:
When 100 juvenile delinquents are sent on a mission to recolonize Earth, they get a second chance at freedom, friendship, and love, as they fight to survive in a dangerous new world.

Review:
I saw the first episode of the TV on Netflix, and I decided to read the book when I heard that the TV show got great reviews. I was looking for something new to offer our dystopian fans. The book itself is pretty good.  It offers different viewpoints of things happening to the kids up on the space station as well as on the ground.  It delves into moral ambiguity, and it has some truly gut-wrenching decisions that need to be made.  All those things were great.  What I found less great, surprisingly, was the amount of romance in the book.  They took a book that should have been about so much more, and they overpowered it with hormones–and I like romance books!  If the romance had taken a backseat to the rest, I would have been more impressed.  As it is, I will still be recommending it, but only to those people who are Team Peeta or Team Gale.  🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 25, 2015 in Adventure, Dystopian, Romance, Sci-Fi, Teen

 

Tags: , ,

School for Brides

school for bridesTitle: A School for Brides
Author: Patrice Kindl
Series: sequel to Keeping the Castle
Recommended for:  Special Middle School or High School readers
Pages: 251 pp
Call Number/Link:  Teen Fiction Kindl, P.

Synopsis:  In the early 1800s, in a remote corner of England with almost no eligible young men, the eight students at the Winthrop Hopkins Female Academy uncover a mystery while learning all the skills necessary to become a good wife.

 

Review:  That synopsis was written by the Library of Congress–but it doesn’t summarize the book very well at all!  This book is a silly romp through a backwoods boarding school.  It has a very Jane Austen feel, while only scratching the surface of emotions of the varied characters.  There were a few characters that I was rooting for, although I didn’t get caught up in any of the romances.  While I enjoyed the book, I am a 34 year old woman who is obsessed with Jane Austen.  It is a book for a niche audience of people who like Victorian literature and British humor. If you know any of those special teen readers, recommend away!

Readalikes: The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place, anything by Marion Chesney.  If they are ready for more depth, try Georgette Heyer and of course, the incomparable Jane Austen.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 21, 2015 in Historical, Romance, Teen

 

Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between

23369370Title: Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between
Author: Jennifer E. Smith
Series: N/A
Recommended for: 9th Grade and Up
Pages: 256
Call Number/Link:  Teen Fiction Smith, J

Synopsis: On the night before they leave for college, Clare and Aidan only have one thing left to do: figure out whether they should stay together or break up. Over the course of twelve hours, they’ll retrace the steps of their relationship, trying to find something in their past that might help them decide what their future should be. The night will lead them to friends and family, familiar landmarks and unexpected places, hard truths and surprising revelations. But as the clock winds down and morning approaches, so does their inevitable goodbye. The question is, will it be goodbye for now or goodbye forever?

Review: Smith has been one of my favorite authors since The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight and did not disappoint with Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between. This plot is a bit different than some of her others as it’s not about falling in love, but knowing that you love each other and deciding it’s wise to stay together when you’re going to be on the opposite sides of the country. It’s very bittersweet as you can tell the characters have a lot of history and have to decide if they want to follow logic or their hearts. Will going into college being attached to someone really hold them back? Will they find themselves waiting around for a phone call when they should be out having fun? Clare is def. the more hardcore logically one about it while Aidan is doing everything he can to convince her that they can make it. She’s got her reasons and while they’re a bit shaky at time it’s hard to fault her for the logic even if you want to shout that she should follow her heart. After all, long distance relationships are hard for adults let alone 18 year olds experiencing their first time away from home. Sometimes it’s all about timing and that can often overrule the love you have for each other.

While I think any teen can enjoy this one,  I do think it will resonate the most with seniors as I’m sure some may be facing the very same situation soon.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 31, 2015 in Romance, Teen

 

Tags: , , , ,

The Summer of Chasing Mermaids

23309653Title: The Summer of Chasing Mermaids
Author: Sarah Ockler
Series: N/A
Recommended for: Grades 8 & Up
Pages: 399
Call Number/Link: Teen Fiction Ockler, S.

Synopsis: The youngest of six talented sisters, Elyse d’Abreau was destined for stardom—until a boating accident took everything from her. Now, the most beautiful singer in Tobago can’t sing. She can’t even speak.

Seeking quiet solitude, Elyse accepts a friend’s invitation to Atargatis Cove. Named for the mythical first mermaid, the Oregon seaside town is everything Elyse’s home in the Caribbean isn’t: An ocean too cold for swimming, parties too tame for singing, and people too polite to pry—except for one.

Christian Kane is a notorious playboy—insolent, arrogant, and completely charming. He’s also the only person in Atargatis Cove who doesn’t treat Elyse like a glass statue. He challenges her to express herself, and he admires the way she treats his younger brother Sebastian, who believes Elyse is the legendary mermaid come to life.

When Christian needs a first mate for the Cove’s high-stakes Pirate Regatta, Elyse reluctantly stows her fear of the sea and climbs aboard. The ocean isn’t the only thing making waves, though—swept up in Christian’s seductive tide and entranced by the Cove’s charms, Elyse begins to wonder if a life of solitude isn’t what she needs. But changing course again means facing her past. It means finding her inner voice. And scariest of all, it means opening her heart to a boy who’s best known for breaking them . . .

My thoughts: I normally love Ockler, but this one took me a bit to fall in love with. It could have just been one of those wrong book/wrong moment things as I’ve talked to others who have loved it. While it looks like it should be a romance book, the focus is way more on Elyse and Christian healing/standing up for themselves than them falling in love. There is certainly a lot of feels, but there’s a lot of fun as well.

I did think think the book dragged for me until the mid-point, once I hit that moment I totally loved it. I will say, one of my favorite scenes is how the group rallies around Christian’s younger brother when he wants to enter the mermaid parade. The kid LOVES mermaids more than anyone else, but he’s denied because he’s a boy. They way it works out is near perfection. There is also a very strong feminist feel to this book in almost ever aspect. It was refreshing to see Ockler hit some of the topics in a very organic way. It never felt forced or preachy.

So, maybe not my favorite Ockler book, but I’m glad I didn’t give up on it. A very solid read overall.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 29, 2015 in Realistic, Romance, Teen

 

Tags: , , , , , ,