RSS

Category Archives: Historical

Max

 

max

Title: Max

Author: Sarah Cohen-Scali

Series: N/A

Recommended for: High School

Pages: 421

 

Call Number/Link:  TEEN FICTION COHEN-SCALI, S.



SynopsisSet in Nazi Germany. 1936.

In the Lebensborn program, carefully selected German women are recruited by the Nazis to give birth to new members of the Aryan race. Inside one of these women is Max, literally counting the minutes until he is born and he can fulfill his destiny as the perfect Aryan specimen.

Max is taken away from his birth mother soon after he enters the world. Raised under the ideology and direction of the Nazi Party, he grows up without any family, without any affection or tenderness, and he soon becomes the mascot of the program. That is until he meets Lukas, a young Jewish boy whom he knows he is meant to despise. Instead, the friendship that blossoms changes Max’s world forever.

My Thoughts: This was a very intriguing book because it was historically based on a far out Nazi program that actually existed during the Third Reich.  So for historical fiction buffs that would be a great read, as long as you don’t the cover, it is a little intimating. I enjoyed the story and the struggle that Max had with his friend he considered a brother.  The ending was shocking but not surprising.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Valiant

Title: The Valiant
Author: Lesley Livingston
Series: The Valiant
Recommended for: Grades 8 & up
Pages: 372
Call Number/Link:  Teen Fiction Livingston, L. 

Synopsis: Fallon is the daughter of a proud Celtic king, the sister of the legendary warrior Sorcha, and the sworn enemy of Julius Caesar.

When Fallon was a child, Caesar’s armies invaded her homeland, and her beloved sister was killed in battle.

Now, on the eve of her seventeenth birthday, Fallon is eager to follow in her sister’s footsteps and earn her place in the fearsome Cantii war band. She never gets the chance.

Fallon is captured and sold to an elite training school for female gladiators—owned by none other than Julius Caesar. In a cruel twist of fate, the man who destroyed Fallon’s family might be her only hope of survival.

Now Fallon must overcome vicious rivalries and deadly fights—in and out of the arena. And perhaps the most dangerous threat of all: her forbidden yet irresistible feelings for Cai, a young Roman soldier.

Reviews: I really, really liked this book. It read it super fast because I kept doing the “One more chapter” thing. Fallon is pretty kick butt, although, things do come a little easy to her. However, I still really enjoyed her journey. I’m super glad that the love triangle/complication that started in the beginning of the book wasn’t carried too far. There’s a lot of interesting plot twists, which I won’t spoil. My biggest complaint was I wished there was more fighting. For being a book that is supposed to be about a female gladiator there is very little description in the arena. It’s more about the intrigue/mysteries/secrets that happens outside of the arena. All that said, though, when I got to the end I was super glad to learn there will be a book 2. I will totally read it as soon as I can get my hands on it.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 8, 2017 in Historical, Teen, Uncategorized

 

Resistance

Resistance

Jacket (1)Title:: Resistance
Author: : Carla Jablonski ; illustrated by Leland Purvis ; color by Hilary Sycamore.
Series: Resistance trilogy
Recommended for: Grades 5-9
Pages: Unpaginated
Call Number/Link:  GN J JAB
Synopsis: A couple’s bucolic French town is almost untouched by the ravages of WWII. When their friend goes into hiding and his Jewish parents disappear, they realize they must take a stand.
Review:  This is a tough book, but important. It is about the occupation of France as told from the point of view of children. The authors work hard to make the story gripping without being melodramatic. The excellently capture the fear and uncertainty of war coupled with the power of family. End notes in the book talk a bit more about the war and reasonably discuss the idea that war is filled with shades of grey, explaining some of the ideas as to why people might collaborate with the Nazis.

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

School for Brides

school for bridesTitle: A School for Brides
Author: Patrice Kindl
Series: sequel to Keeping the Castle
Recommended for:  Special Middle School or High School readers
Pages: 251 pp
Call Number/Link:  Teen Fiction Kindl, P.

Synopsis:  In the early 1800s, in a remote corner of England with almost no eligible young men, the eight students at the Winthrop Hopkins Female Academy uncover a mystery while learning all the skills necessary to become a good wife.

 

Review:  That synopsis was written by the Library of Congress–but it doesn’t summarize the book very well at all!  This book is a silly romp through a backwoods boarding school.  It has a very Jane Austen feel, while only scratching the surface of emotions of the varied characters.  There were a few characters that I was rooting for, although I didn’t get caught up in any of the romances.  While I enjoyed the book, I am a 34 year old woman who is obsessed with Jane Austen.  It is a book for a niche audience of people who like Victorian literature and British humor. If you know any of those special teen readers, recommend away!

Readalikes: The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place, anything by Marion Chesney.  If they are ready for more depth, try Georgette Heyer and of course, the incomparable Jane Austen.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 21, 2015 in Historical, Romance, Teen

 

Echo

Echo cover

Title:   Echo
Author:   Pam Munoz Ryan
Series:   not applicable
Recommended for:   Grades 6 and up
Pages:   585 pages
Call Number/Link:   TEEN FICTION RYAN, P.

Rating:   ****

 

 

Synopsis:

Lost in the Black Forest, Otto meets three mysterious sisters and finds himself entwined in a prophecy, a promise, and a harmonica–and decades later three children, Friedrich in Germany, Mike in Pennsylvania, and Ivy in California find themselves caught up in the same thread of destiny in the darkest days of the twentieth century, struggling to keep their families intact, and tied together by the music of the same harmonica.

Comments:

I’d heard a lot of positive buzz about Echo so decided to read it. The book was well-written and I appreciated that the children in the book were able to survive very difficult, seemingly hopeless situations thanks to music.  (They were also helped by a magical harmonica).  I’m a fan of books with intertwining stories which come together at the end of the book.  There were moments when I couldn’t believe that the author would be able to pull off a logical ending that tied everything together, but she did.  The downside of the book was that I cried when the sadness of the children’s situations overwhelmed me.

Echo would be a great choice for readers who like tearjerkers, historical fiction (particularly World War II), music, and books with entwined stories.

 

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 23, 2015 in Historical, Teen

 

Tags: , , , , ,

The Princess Spy


princess spyTitle: The Princess Spy

Author: Melanie Dickerson
Series: Fairy Tales Romance #5
Recommended for:  8th grade and Up
Pages: 293
Call Number/Link:  TEEN FICTION DICKERSON, M.

 

Synopsis: Margaretha has always been a romantic, and hopes her newest suitor, Lord Claybrook, is destined to be her one true love. But then an injured man is brought to Hagenheim Castle, claiming to be an English lord who was attacked by Claybrook and left for dead. And only Margaretha—one of the few who speaks his language—understands the wild story. Margaretha finds herself unable to pass Colin’s message along to her father, the duke, and convinces herself ‘Lord Colin’ is just an addled stranger. Then Colin retrieves an heirloom she lost in a well, and asks her to spy on Claybrook as repayment. Margaretha knows she could never be a spy—not only is she unable to keep anything secret, she’s sure Colin is completely wrong about her potential betrothed. Though when Margaretha overhears Claybrook one day, she discovers her romantic notions may have been clouding her judgment about not only Colin but Claybrook as well. It is up to her to save her father and Hagenheim itself from Claybrook’s wicked plot.

Review: I thought this was just such a refreshing book. This author retells classic fairy tales with historical details. Since it is a Christian book series it had all the elements of a classic fairy tale in that it does not have foul language, and it alluded to many different relationships without going into detail.  Truly a clean and fun addition to the series.  I would recommend this to young girls looking for fairy tales but that are fun and interesting.  This story always keep you engaged, wanting more.  It is fairly short and a quick read.  You could recommend to younger middle schoolers if they wanted more mature content without the details.  I look forward to reading other novels in the series since it ties in all the different characters so well and give information about each character.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 17, 2015 in Fairy Tales, Historical, Romance, Teen

 

Tags: , , , ,