RSS

Author Archives: Heather V.

Max

 

max

Title: Max

Author: Sarah Cohen-Scali

Series: N/A

Recommended for: High School

Pages: 421

 

Call Number/Link:  TEEN FICTION COHEN-SCALI, S.



SynopsisSet in Nazi Germany. 1936.

In the Lebensborn program, carefully selected German women are recruited by the Nazis to give birth to new members of the Aryan race. Inside one of these women is Max, literally counting the minutes until he is born and he can fulfill his destiny as the perfect Aryan specimen.

Max is taken away from his birth mother soon after he enters the world. Raised under the ideology and direction of the Nazi Party, he grows up without any family, without any affection or tenderness, and he soon becomes the mascot of the program. That is until he meets Lukas, a young Jewish boy whom he knows he is meant to despise. Instead, the friendship that blossoms changes Max’s world forever.

My Thoughts: This was a very intriguing book because it was historically based on a far out Nazi program that actually existed during the Third Reich.  So for historical fiction buffs that would be a great read, as long as you don’t the cover, it is a little intimating. I enjoyed the story and the struggle that Max had with his friend he considered a brother.  The ending was shocking but not surprising.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

The Boy on Cinnamon Street

 

Title: The Boy on Cinnamon Street

Author: Phoebe Stone

Series: N/A

Recommended for: Grades 3-7

Pages: 234

 

Call Number/Link:  TEEN FICTION STONE,P.



Synopsis: 7th grader Louise should be the captain of her school’s gymnastics team – but she isn’t. She’s fun and cute and should have lots of friends – but she doesn’t. And there’s a dreamy boy who has a crush on her – but somehow they never connect. Louise has everything going for her – so what is it that’s holding her back?

Phoebe Stone tells the winning story of the spring when 7th grader Louise Terrace wakes up, finds the courage to confront the painful family secret she’s hiding from – and finally get the boy.

My Thoughts: I thought this was such a fabulous book because it was cute, touching, and relatable. I would definately label this realistic fiction because that could happen to and has happened to many people.  So sad because you do not expect what the family is trying to keep from Louise until she can come to terms with her past by herself.  I think this book would work well for upper elementary school and middle school readers because of the immaturity of the characters.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Conoce a / Get to know Gabriela Mistral

mistral

 

Title: Conoce a / Get to Know Gabriela Mistral

Author: Georgina Lazaro Leon

Series: Personajes del mundo hispanico

Recommended for:  grade 2-5 

Pages: 29

Call Number/Link:  SPA J B MISTRAL, G.

Synopsis: A quiet, shy, and humble little girl grew up to become a very important writer. How important was she? She was the first Latin American writer to receive the Nobel Prize in Literature, the most prestigious award given to writers in the world!

Thoughts:  I like how these books are bilingual and are illustrated very nicely.  They are attractive to the eye and present the information in a storybook form while giving excerpts from their body of work. For a biography it was interesting and told their story fairly quickly and would be a great use for book reports or personal information.  We only have a few books in the series so they would have to be held and brought over from other libraries.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 26, 2017 in Historical, Juv, Non-Fiction, Spanish, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Plant the Tiny Seed

plant-the-tiny-seed

 

Title: Plant the Tiny Seed

Author: Christie Mathson

Series: N/A

Recommended for: Preschool – 3rd grade

Pages: 40

Call Number/Link: E MATHESON, C.

Synopsis:  How do you make a garden grow? In this playful companion to the popular Tap the Magic Tree and Touch the Brightest Star, you will see how tiny seeds bloom into beautiful flowers. And by tapping, clapping, waving, and more, young readers can join in the action! Christie Matheson masterfully combines the wonder of the natural world with the interactivity of reading.

Beautiful collage-and-watercolor art follows the seed through its entire life cycle, as it grows into a zinnia in a garden full of buzzing bees, curious hummingbirds, and colorful butterflies. Children engage with the book as they wiggle their fingers to water the seeds, clap to make the sun shine after rain, and shoo away a hungry snail. Appropriate for even the youngest child, Plant the Tiny Seed is never the same book twice—no matter how many times you read it!

And for curious young nature lovers, a page of facts about seeds, flowers, and the insects and animals featured in the book is included at the end. Fans of Press Here, Eric Carle, and Lois Ehlert will find their next favorite book in Plant the Tiny Seed.

My thoughts: I think this book was so cute and had great rhyming sentences.  It is very interactive and would be perfect for any storytime: lapsit, toddler, preschool or Family.  I like the fact that the children can participate by doing an action for each page, while the colors and illustrations are engaging while covering a science topic.  Great book for parents or any type of teachers that want to teach how plants grow.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Hidden Figures- Young Reader’s Edition

hidden-figures

Title: Hidden Figures
Author: Margot Lee Shetterly
Series: N/A

Recommended for: 8-12 years old

Pages: 231

 

Call Number/Link:  J 629.4 LEE

 

 

Synopsis: Before John Glenn orbited the earth, or Neil Armstrong walked on the moon, a group of dedicated female mathematicians known as “human computers” used pencils, slide rules, and adding machines to calculate the numbers that would launch rockets, and astronauts, into space. This book brings to life the stories of Dorothy Vaughan, Mary Jackson, Katherine Johnson, and Christine Darden, four African-American women who lived through the civil rights era, the Space Race, the Cold War, and the movement for gender equality, and whose work forever changed the face of NASA and the country.

Review: I think this is a very interesting book that highlights what women were doing behind the scenes in the equal rights movement.  A real revelation that it is never how it seems and always nice to see people being given recognition for their contributions to society.   This would be a great read aloud for an elementary school classroom and will undoubtly be a book to reach for during Black History Month this coming year.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 31, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Aveluz/Firebird

 

Titlaveluze: Aveluz: el secreto de las nubes / Firebird: he lived for the sunshine

Author: Brent McCorkle / Amy Parker

Series: N/A

Recommended for: Preschool to 3rd grade

Pages: 32

Call Number/Link:  SPA E MCCORKLE, B.

 

Synopsis: Firebird is a bright orange baby Oriole who just loves the sunshine. But whenever a storm blows in, he frets and asks Mama why God allows the rain to take the sun away. When Firebird is finally old enough, his mother gently instructs him to fly up through the thunder and lightning to see what’s on the other side. It’s a rough flight and just when he’s about to give up, Firebird rises above the storm to discover the sun shining where it always had been. Firebird is a children’s book that parallels the life of Samantha Crawford, a storybook artist in the inspirational film Unconditional, who lost sight of God’s love and discovered it again.

It was a supercute book that explained what happens when it storms to a small child, it uses a very impressive method that the mommy bird explains to her baby bird.  I think this would be a great book for a parent to read to their child, read for a children’s church class, etc.  The fact that this book is bilingual manageble sentences in English and Spanish is a plus and with beautiful illustrations.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Ashes

ashes

 

Title: Ashes

Author: Laurie Halse Anderson

Series: Seeds of America Trilogy

Recommended for: 6th grade and up

Pages: 298

Call Number/Link:  TEEN FICTION ANDERSON L.

 

 

Thoughts: This is the third book in this thrilogy and she took quite a few years to complete the third book.  I did like the completion of the story because it was a realistic account of what could have happened to people in that era.  I loved reading about how other people may have lived and all the trials they underwent. I think teenagers will like this book if they like having a peek at a different time in history. Curzon and Isabel are very well developed in the three books.

Synopsis: As the Revolutionary War rages on, Isabel and Curzon have narrowly escaped Valley Forge—but their relief is short-lived. Before long they are reported as runaways, and the awful Bellingham is determined to track them down. With purpose and faith, Isabel and Curzon march on, fiercely determined to find Isabel’s little sister Ruth, who is enslaved in a Southern state—where bounty hunters are thick as flies.

Heroism and heartbreak pave their path, but Isabel and Curzon won’t stop until they reach Ruth, and then freedom, in this grand finale to the acclaimed Seeds of America trilogy from Laurie Halse Anderson.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 25, 2016 in Uncategorized