RSS

Wings of Fire: The Dragonet Prophecy

22 Jul

Wings of fireTitle: The Dragonet Prophecy
Author: Tui Sutherland
Series:  Wings of Fire
Recommended for: 4th – 7th grades
Pages: 336
Call Number/Link:  J FICTION SUTHERLAND, T.

Synopsis: Clay has lived his whole life under the mountain. The MudWing dragonet knows war is raging between the dragon tribes in the world outside – a war that he and four other dragonets are destined to end, according to the mysterious prophecy they have been taught. The five “chosen” dragonets were stolen from their homes while they were still in their eggs – and hidden away for years – all to fulfill the prophecy. But not every dragonet wants a destiny. And when danger threatens one of their own, Clay and his friends may choose freedom over fate … leave the mountain … and set the dragon world on a course that no one could have predicted.

I picked up this book because my son has been begging me to read the series. I have been putting him off, because I didn’t think that I would like it.  Well I was wrong!  I actually like the series and I am now plowing through the next book.  I found the book to have a good pacing, and developed characters.  Each book in the series focus on one of the five chosen dragonets. This book focuses on Clay the MudWing, so it follows him and what he learns about himself and more about his kind.  While all that is going on Clay and the other dragonets are thrust into their destiny as the dragonets of Prophecy.  My only complaint is that it was hard to remember who is allied with who as there are seven clans.  I think the author is doing a nice job only introducing one or two clans in a book.  ( I am only in the second book, so I will have to see if it stays that way.)

I think those who have read Warriors will enjoy this series, since Tui Sutherland is one of the many writers.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 22, 2016 in Fantasy, Juv

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
