RSS

My Colors = Mis Colores

02 Feb

My Colors = Mis Colores cover

Title:   My Colors = Mis Colores
Author:   Rebecca Emberley
Series:   not named, but a series of bilingual board books that teach basic English and Spanish vocabulary
Recommended for:  Babies and toddlers who are first learning their words, children and adults who are learning English or Spanish as a second language
Pages:   unpaged (about 19 pages)
Call Number/Link:  SPA E TINY EMBERLEY, R.

Rating:   *****

 

 

 

Synopsis:

Ilustraciones etiquetadas introducen colores y sus nombres en inglés y Español, junto con las palabras de varios objetos de colores brillantes.
Labelled illustrations introduce colors and their names in English and Spanish, along with the words for various brightly colored objects.
Comments:
I absolutely love My Colors = Mis Colores and the other books in this series.  I wish I’d owned them when I first started taking Spanish class.  It would have been a much more entertaining way of learning vocabulary words than my method of using flashcards with the English word on one side and the Spanish word on the other.  (I made the flashcards myself so did not have cute illustrations or consistently legible handwriting.)
Over the years, I have paid special attention to books and materials that introduce the reader to a different language due to my interest in learning other languages This series is my absolute favorite.
It is a great choice for babies and toddlers who are first learning to talk, in either English or Spanish.  (Or both!)  It is an excellent choice for children and adults who are in their first (or second) Spanish or English class.  It works well for children and adults who would like to teach themselves Spanish – and works equally well for ESL students.
The words are written clearly in big letters that are easy to see (and read),  There is a boldly colored accompanying picture that illustrates the vocabulary word being taught.  The author has selected basic words that are among the first words that one learns when studying a foreign language.
The book My Colors = Mis Colores has a slightly different format than the others in the series.  In My Colors = Mis Colores, each color being taught has a two-page spread.  The background of the left page is the color with the color’s name in the middle of the page (English above Spanish).  The right page has a picture of an item of that color and gives the English and Spanish words for the item.
The other books in the series usually have one page per vocabulary word with the English and Spanish written words and corresponding illustration on the same page, although there’s the occasional two-page spread.
Other books in this series:
My School = Mi Escuela; My Animals = Mis Animales; My Clothes = Mi Ropa; My Food = Mi Comida; My Toys = Mis Juguetes; My Numbers = Mis Numeros; My Opposites = Mis Opuestos; My Shapes = Mis Formas.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 2, 2016 in Concepts, Spanish

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
