RSS

School for Brides

21 Sep

school for bridesTitle: A School for Brides
Author: Patrice Kindl
Series: sequel to Keeping the Castle
Recommended for:  Special Middle School or High School readers
Pages: 251 pp
Call Number/Link:  Teen Fiction Kindl, P.

Synopsis:  In the early 1800s, in a remote corner of England with almost no eligible young men, the eight students at the Winthrop Hopkins Female Academy uncover a mystery while learning all the skills necessary to become a good wife.

 

Review:  That synopsis was written by the Library of Congress–but it doesn’t summarize the book very well at all!  This book is a silly romp through a backwoods boarding school.  It has a very Jane Austen feel, while only scratching the surface of emotions of the varied characters.  There were a few characters that I was rooting for, although I didn’t get caught up in any of the romances.  While I enjoyed the book, I am a 34 year old woman who is obsessed with Jane Austen.  It is a book for a niche audience of people who like Victorian literature and British humor. If you know any of those special teen readers, recommend away!

Readalikes: The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place, anything by Marion Chesney.  If they are ready for more depth, try Georgette Heyer and of course, the incomparable Jane Austen.

Advertisements
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 21, 2015 in Historical, Romance, Teen

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: