RSS

The Island of Dr. Libris

31 Jul

the island of dr librisTitle: The Island of Dr. Libris
Author: Chris Grabenstein
Series: N/A
Recommended for:
Pages: 242 pages
Call Number/Link: J FICTION GRABENSTEIN, C.  

Synopsis: A twelve-year-old boy, worried that his parents may divorce, discovers that an island in the middle of the lake where he is spending the summer is the testing grounds of the mysterious Dr. Libris, who may have invented a way to make the characters in books come alive.

 What if your favorite characters came to life? Billy’s spending the summer in a lakeside cabin that belongs to the mysterious Dr. Libris. But something strange is going on. Besides the security cameras everywhere, there’s Dr. Libris’s private bookcase. Whenever Billy opens the books inside, he can hear sounds coming from the island in the middle of the lake. The clash of swords. The twang of arrows. Sometimes he can even feel the ground shaking. It’s almost as if the stories he’s reading are coming to life! But that’s impossible . . . isn’t it?

 

I really wanted to love this book, but it was ok.  I read Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library and loved that book so I had big hopes.  Premise is good, I like the idea of characters coming to life.  I just couldn’t get into this book.  Two of my sons loved his last book, but neither of them finished this one.  I have tried to put my finger on why, but I just couldn’t put my finger on it.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 31, 2015 in Adventure, Juv

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
