RSS

Almost Home

27 Feb

 

almost homeTitle:  Almost Home
Author: Joan Bauer
Series: None
Recommended for: 4-7th grade
Pages: 240
Call Number/Link:  J BAU

Synopsis: When twelve-year-old Sugar’s grandfather dies and her gambling father takes off yet again, Sugar and her mother lose their home in Missouri. They head to Chicago for a fresh start, only to discover that fresh starts aren’t so easy to come by for the homeless. Nevertheless, Sugar’s mother has taught her to be grateful no matter what, so Sugar does her best. With the help of a rescue dog, Shush; a foster family; a supportive teacher; a love of poetry; and her own grace and good humor, Sugar comes to understand that while she can’t control the hand life deals her, she can control how she responds.

Review: I will admit that I wanted to read this book because of the adorable puppy on the cover but it also turned out to be one of those books about kids in sad circumstances that I love. This book is a Caudill nominee this year and also another Girls Read favorite.  I would recommend for fans of Love, Aubrey, Wonder, or Waiting for Normal.  This book is like others like it, in that the protagonist makes the best out of her circumstances and comes out all the better in the end.

Advertisements
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 27, 2015 in Realistic, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: